The end of things

Go down

The end of things

Post by #35 on Wed Nov 21, 2018 2:31 pm

I have been a student assistant on high school varsity teams, but have never played on any. I also think differently than others, as some of you may know, so sometimes I may not understand the "usual" perspectives on routine things.

One thing that I have been wrapping my head around lately, with the conclusion of the fall sports season, is trying to understand the grieving process of a season-ending loss. I was a journalist by the time I was a senior, so I never got to take in the "it's over" feeling that seniors face at the end of their seasons. I've covered so many crying tears in postgame interviews, and realize that it is a big deal for them.

I've dealt with tragedy before. It sucks. I guess I would like to know what makes a season-ending loss equivalent to a tragedy? Have season-ending crying tears always been a part of high school sports; if not, when/why did it start? It seems to me as if it didn't used to be this way at some point. Are kids taking the feeling better, worse, or the same as they did a generation ago, and why the changes?

Only as adults do we fully understand that there is more to life than "ball," and that, perhaps, the end of sports participation is among death and taxes as guarantees in life. Solo piano outro included.

Bee-otch

Back to top Go down

Re: The end of things

Post by ging on Wed Nov 21, 2018 3:15 pm

#35 wrote: I guess I would like to know what makes a season-ending loss equivalent to a tragedy?

in my opinion, it's not the same as a tragedy. not even close. however, what IS similar is the sudden, perhaps unexpected end to something that you thought would last longer. maybe even something you KNEW would end soon but denied, in your own mind, that the end would ever come. and it seems to be worse for seniors, many of whom will never play that sport competitively again.
ging
Kick Ass
Kick Ass

Back to top Go down